Using NVivo to Develop Theory from Case Studies

Hello Everyone: This is a duplicate post I just placed in the "General Discusssion Area". As I am eager for advice and not familiar with the protocol of this site, I posted twice. Please accept my sincerest apologies if the following post is inappropriate for this topic area, and if so I will not repeat duplicate postings in the future. Having said that, I do need help:

I am totally new to this fantastic software product, so freely express my ignorance, with the caveat however that prior to coming back to academia to pursue a Doctorate in International Business, I worked in the IT field both in the US and Japan for 10+ years so am fairly adept at software usage in general, and issues like data normalization and project management in particular

Here is my situation: I am doing the Stanford, 3 extended essay approach to my dissertation. My 1st essay is the study of a failed joint venture between an American and Japanese mobile telephone carrier joint venture. From my professional background, I have some excellent senior executive level contacts.

The primary data I have collected include several extended (1.5 - 2hr) interviews (transcribed) with key executives in both companies. Secondary sources include industry white papers, annual reports, and news items from Internet news sources, Blogs, and some email based interviews.

After adding these items into an NVivo project, particularly the transcripts, I have been following the excellent NVIvo tutorials on how to Free Node, then Tree Node, etc. My impression (understanding) is that the goal is to try to get more abstract as one goes from Free Nodes to Tree Nodes, etc. Then use the attributes and query features to tease out themes from one's data.