coolrat33

Seeking advice for organizing data for project

coolrat33    0

Hi

I'm new to Nvivo In the coming weeks I will finish preparing my field note data and will use it to begin my analysis.

My data consists of audio interviews, photos and video footage of folk religious groups in China. I have written my fieldwork notes from 2007 to 2010 in one long OpenOffice .odf document.

Most of the interviews have been transcribed into text (Chinese language) and I was planning to:

a) insert the interviews into my field notes in the OpenOffice .odf document. The reason for doing this is to keep each day's personal observations/notes together with the interviews that took place on each day.

B) insert photos of particular events into the OpenOffice .odf document.

Is this a good idea? Is there a better way of doing this?

I want to be able to have a clear chronological understanding of my data.

Should I use one long document? Or should I divide it up by years? And should I keep the interview transcripts separate from my field notes?

Finally, how can I associate video material with the text?

Thank you for any advice you can provide!

coolrat33    0
Hi

I'm new to Nvivo In the coming weeks I will finish preparing my field note data and will use it to begin my analysis.

My data consists of audio interviews, photos and video footage of folk religious groups in China. I have written my fieldwork notes from 2007 to 2010 in one long OpenOffice .odf document.

Most of the interviews have been transcribed into text (Chinese language) and I was planning to:

a) insert the interviews into my field notes in the OpenOffice .odf document. The reason for doing this is to keep each day's personal observations/notes together with the interviews that took place on each day.

B) insert photos of particular events into the OpenOffice .odf document.

Is this a good idea? Is there a better way of doing this?

I want to be able to have a clear chronological understanding of my data.