adding timespans to imported audio transcript

Hello,

I'm new to NVivo on a 30 day trial, and I'd like to use it to work with audio transcripts of group meetings. I have a very rough partial transcript that I'd like to use as the starting point for a complete transcript. I've imported my rough transcript to the audio file, but it doesn't have any timespans. I need a timespan for each of the speaking turns in the group conversation, and I'm finding it terribly clumsy to delineate each interval on the audio file and assign it to a row -- the selection keeps disappearing on me, the audio cursor hops around, it's hard to start on the next turn directly where I left off, and I feel like it takes 5-10 minutes of fiddling just to add a timespan to one turn (out of over 100). And once a turn has a timespan, it moves to the bottom, so I'm constantly having to scroll up and down the whole document to get a direct correspondence between turns. It seems terribly inefficient. I can't find any info on this in the help files. Any ideas on how to do this more efficiently?

Thanks!

Ann

No one has responded so I guess there's no easy fix here. This is much easier in the audio/video-based program, Transana, which works with simple timestamps. But then I can't link to my other source documents. :( Please let me know if anyone has a solution.

Hi Ann,

Sorry you are having trouble with your audio transcript.

Maybe it would be more efficient for you to add the timespans in the transcript before importing it.

If your original transcript is in table form, you could add the timespans into the first column - check the attachment to see what the document should look like before you import it.

You can find out more about importing transcripts in the help topic Import audio or video transcripts.

Hope this helps!

Cheers,

Kath

timespan.jpg

Thanks for your reply, Kath!