NMCD

looking at respondents coded responses side by side

Hi - apologies in advance if I don't explain this well as I'm new to NVivo.

I have looked for information on this question and cannot find it.

I have 700 survey respondents, who I asked 2 questions:

Q1. What do we do better?

Q2. Why do we do that better?

I have coded Q1 to 15 codes.

I have coded Q2 to 5 codes. [resources, funding, people, expertise, experience]

I now want to look at the results. How do I get the codes to appear side by side, identified by each survey respondent?

As example, it should show: Respondent # - Q1 code - Q2 code

I want to be able to say "50% respondents say we do X better. Of those respondents, 40% say it is because of resources; 30% say it is because of funding and 30% say it is because of our people. No-one thinks we do X better because of our expertise or experience."

Any help appreciated...

Nic

Hi Nic, 

It’s not possible to get quite the output you are after. The closest thing you could do would be to view your dataset with coding stripes turned on to get an indication of how it has been coded. You can find information about turning coding stripes on at the following link:
https://help-nv.qsrinternational.com/12/win/v12.1.86-d3ea61/Content/coding/coding-stripes.htm

As for finding the number of your survey participants coded at each of your theme nodes, something you might want to explore is running a matrix coding query. For example, you could have a matrix coding query that has the 15 codes from Q1 as the rows and the 5 from Q2 as the columns. As you won’t have any references coded to both your Q1 and Q2 sets of nodes, you would need to change the query criteria to show references coded at the row criteria NEAR the column criteria and change the proximity to find references in the same dataset row.