Jump to content

Second level of nodes does not import into a new project (merging projects)


Recommended Posts

Merging two projects into a new project file: When selecting to import only nodes that were created or worked on by a specific user, the second level nodes do not import into the new project. Is this a bug? Or is there a way to solve this problem? The detailed description is the following:

I gave my colleague a copy of my project, and she created “her own” new nodes, while at the same time I continued working on my project.

When I “split” the project, the structure was as follows:

Folder A (me)
- Node A.1
--- Node A.1.1
--- Node A.1.2
- Node A.2
--- Node A.2.1
--- Node A.2.2
- Node A.3 

Folder B (colleague)
(empty)

Now I continued to work in folder A, and she continued to work in folder B, so the code structure looks as follows:

Folder A (me)
- Node A.1
--- Node A.1.1
--- Node A.1.2
- Node A.2
--- Node A.2.1
--- Node A.2.2
- Node A.3 

Folder B (colleague)
- Node B.1
--- Node B.1.1
--- Node B.1.2
- Node B.2
--- Node B.2.1
--- Node B.2.2
- Node B.3 

To “merge” the project back together I created a new project, inserted my (whole) project and then hers. For her project, I only want to insert her nodes, so I chose to import only nodes created or worked on by her.

Then the second level nodes are not imported into the new project, so now the code structure looks as follows:

Folder A (me)
- Node A.1
--- Node A.1.1
--- Node A.1.2
- Node A.2
--- Node A.2.1
--- Node A.2.2
- Node A.3 

Folder B (colleague)
- Node B.1
- Node B.2
- Node B.3

(Her second level nodes B.1.1., B.1.2, ect. did not import)

How can I solve this problem?

I definitely need the option to select only the nodes she has been working on. If we just merge the projects without selection of users, the problem is the following:

If I continue to work in folder A, and she continued to work in folder B, the code structure might looks as follows:

Folder A (me)
- Node A.1
(Deleted node A.1.1 and A.1.2)
- Node A.2
--- Node A.2.1
--- Node A.2.2
- Node A.3
(Created node A.3.1) 

Folder B (colleague)
- Node B.1
--- Node B.1.1
--- Node B.1.2
- Node B.2
--- Node B.2.1
--- Node B.2.2
- Node B.3 

If we merge the projects without selection of users, the code structure looks as follows:

Folder A (me)
- Node A.1
--- Node A.1.1 (even though has been deleted by me, was inserted from my old folder which is still in “her” file of the project)
--- Node A.1.2

- Node A.2

--- Node A.2.1
--- Node A.2.2
- Node A.3
--- Node A.3.1 

Folder B (colleague)
- Node B.1
--- Node B.1.1
--- Node B.1.2
- Node B.2
--- Node B.2.1
--- Node B.2.2
- Node B.3

 Thanks for any sugesstions and help :)

Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 3 weeks later...

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...
×
×
  • Create New...